Smith Wigglesworth on Faith for Healing

Smith Wigglesworth, originally a plumber in England in the early 1900’s, answered the call of God and became a true twentieth-century apostle. He became known throughout the world for his powerful preaching of the full Gospel of Jesus Christ. He was renowned for his healing ministry on several continents. He and his wife Polly ministered together for many years until she went home to be with the Lord, and Smith carried on the work, accompanied in later years by his daughter and son-in-law.

These thoughts are excerpts from his book Ever Increasing Faith (copyright 1924 by Smith Wigglesworth). The Gospel Publishing House has produced a “Revised Edition” of the book (copyright 1971 by Gospel Publishing House), which is currently in print.

Excerpt from sermon: “Have Faith in God.”

These are days when we need to have our faith strengthened, when we need to know God. God has designed that the just shall live by faith. Any man can be changed by faith, no matter how he may be fettered. I know that God’s Word is sufficient. … His word is from everlasting to everlasting. … This is the food of faith. ‘Faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God.’

Everywhere men are trying ti discredit the Bible and take from it all the miraculous. One preacher … said, ‘It was an easy thing for Jesus to feed the people with five loaves. The loaves ere so big in those days that it was a simple matter to cut them into a thousand pieces each.’ But he forgot that one little boy brought those five loaves all the way in his lunch basket.

There is nothing impossible with God. All the impossibility is with us when we measure God by the limitations of our unbelief. … I was in Belfast one day and saw one of the brethren of the assembly. He said to me, ‘Wigglesworth, I am troubled. I have had a good deal of sorrow during the past five months. I had a woman in my assembly who could always pray the blessing of heaven down on our meetings. She is an old woman, but her presence is always an inspiration. But five months ago she fell and broke her thigh. The doctors put her into a plater cast, but after five months … the bones were not properly set … so she broke the thigh again.’

He gook me to her house, and there was a woman lying in a bed on the right hand side of the room. I said to her,’Well, what about it now?’ She said, ‘They have sent me home incurable. The doctors say tha I am so old that my bones won’t knit. … They could never do anything for me … and I shall have to lie in bed for the rest of my life.’ I said to her, ‘Can you believe God?’ She replied, ‘Yes, ever since I heard that you had come to Belfast my faith has been quickened. If you will pray , I will believe. I know … there is nothing impossible with God.’ I said, ‘Do you believe He will meet you now?’ She answered, ‘I do.’

It is grand to see people believe God. … Her husband was sitting there; he had been in his chair [wheelchair] for four years and could not walk a step. He called out, ‘I don’t believe. I won’t believe. You will never get me to believe.’ I said, ‘All right,’ and laid my hands on his wife in the name of the Lord Jesus. The moment hands were laid upon her the power of God went right through her and she cried out,’I’m haled.’ I said, ‘I’m not going to assist you to rise. God will do it all.’ She rose and walked up and down the room praising God.

The old man was amazed t what happened to his wife, and he cried out, ‘Make me walk, make me walk.’ I said to him, ‘You old sinner, repent.’ He cried out, ‘Lord, You know I never meant what I said. You know I believe.’ I don’t think he meant what he said; anyhow the Lord was full of compassion. If He marked our sins where would any of us be? If we will meet the conditions, God will always meet us. If we believe, all things are possible. I laid my hands on him and the power went right through the old man’s body; and those legs, for the first time in four years, received power to carry his body, and he walked up and down and in and out. He said, ‘O what great things God has done for us tonight!’

‘What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.’ [Mark 11:24]. Desire toward God, and you will have desires from God; and He will meet you on the line of those desires when you reach out in simple faith.”

Please Let Us Hear From You ...

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close